When You Don’t Want To Read Your Bible

Aaron Joseph Hall
5 min readSep 27, 2017
https://unsplash.com/photos/LJQEDQAmAnI

I want to be completely transparent. There are some mornings my first thought is to grab my cell phone and check Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or my email. It’s not to get up, grab my bible, and be with Jesus. Sometimes I set my alarm to get up early so that I can read my bible and spend time alone with the Lord. But when that alarm goes off…the excuses begin to emerge…the reasons why I shouldn’t get out of bed yet…and so a majority of the time I either turn it off or set it for a later time and try and go back to sleep.

I’m not perfect and neither are you. Now don’t get me wrong, I do spend time with the Lord. But sometimes I give in to my flesh and simply don’t. Honestly, the excuses are pathetic. I could sleep in more. I’m too tired. I’m hungry. I’ve got to much to do. Those moments when I don’t want to read my bible should be an indicator that I need to read my bible. If I wait until I feel like reading it could be a day or two…sometimes a week. Feelings lie. Thankfully, the Lord is not only gracious in those moments of laziness but also very patient. We serve a good God!

Recently, while reading my bible on a staff retreat one verse in particular pieced my heart. It was the Lord trying to get my attention. Ever come across a verse in the bible that not only jumps off the page at you but is constantly coming to the forefront of your mind? You’re…

--

--

Aaron Joseph Hall

I’m Aaron! I'm a Christian, husband, dad, & writer from South Florida. Read my writing: https://www.growingintruthdaily.org/