Missions Void Of The Heart Of Jesus Is Empty Service

Aaron Joseph Hall
3 min readJun 21, 2017

While in Belle Glade, Florida at Collaborate, which is a week long mission trip that involves serving the people of Belle Glade in different ways, I was in charge of one of the paint crews. Between both paint crews we painted eight houses in two days. Some students were serving in other areas at the church and throughout Belle Glade. I want to share with you something that the Lord told me earlier in the week while serving there. It struck home, because what He told me challenged me to really think about what it means to serve on a mission trip.

Here’s what the Holy Spirit told me:

Missions void of the heart of Jesus is empty service.

Have you ever gone on a mission trip? Maybe you are on one right now like I am.

Ask yourself: “When you serve are you serving with the heart of Christ?

If we go out and paint houses, help in soup kitchens, feed the homeless, build houses, love on kids at sports camps, clean up trash off the streets or anything else if you don’t do it with Jesus it’s empty service. So many people do mission work for Jesus as if trying to earn God’s favor. Here’s the thing: There’s nothing you can do to make God love you more or less. When we go and do mission work with Jesus we have the opportunity to make an impact on someone that will…

--

--

Aaron Joseph Hall

I’m Aaron! I'm a Christian, husband, dad, & writer from South Florida. Read my writing: https://www.growingintruthdaily.org/