Unsplash.com

God blessed my wife and I in October of 2015 with an amazing little boy, whom we named after the Green Arrow (aka “Oliver“). Yes, my son’s name was inspired by the fictitious superhero Oliver Queen. I tried giving him the name, Oliver Queen Hall, but my wife didn’t buy into it so we gave him my middle name instead. That’s still a win! Anyhow, I want to share with you three reasons why I love being a dad.

Reason #1: Being a dad brings me much joy!

It wasn’t until I became a dad that I fully understood why our heavenly Father delights in blessing us. When I get my son a new toy or his favorite “nack” as he likes to call his snacks, I find so much joy in watching his face light up with excitement. God loves to bless us. It gives Him joy. After all, joy is one of the fruits of the Spirit mentioned in Galatians 5:22–23. Parenting can be full of joy. It’s not always going to be easy or fun, but joy isn’t happiness. Happiness fades when life gets rough. Joy is steadfast even when the waves are crashing over your head. I find so much joy in being a dad, because the source of my joy is Jesus. We are created in God’s image. And if joy is a fruit of His Spirit it only makes sense that we can share in His joy as we raise these little ones who are also image bearers.

Reason #2: Being a dad has grown me!

--

--

Aaron Joseph Hall

I’m Aaron! I'm a Christian, husband, dad, & writer from South Florida. Read my writing: https://www.growingintruthdaily.org/